Saturday, November 3rd:

Today, I’m grateful for grad school.

(A tired, collective “Sure!” ought to be resounding from anyone who has ever made it through a Master’s or Ph.D!)

But really, I’m so grateful that Peder and I have the chance to continue with school and learn everything we need to in order to succeed in our fields.

In math, it’s almost ridiculous to suggest that Peder could accomplish all of his goals without a Ph.D, and I’m ridiculously grateful that his program provides us with a house, food, and everything else we need in order to be here right now. Without all of the long (long, long, long) hours Peder puts into his math, there’s no way we would be able to do everything that we do here. More than likely, we wouldn’t be here! For his dedication and for his scholarship, I’m incredibly grateful.

If one graduate degree weren’t enough for us, I’m also grateful that I also have the opportunity to go to grad school right now. Even though everyone says that English degrees are one of the most transferable degrees you can get in undergrad–

I respectfully, completely disagree.

English is awesome. I clearly believe that, or else I wouldn’t be here! But an English Lit degree on it’s own, with no focus, is useless. You have to be driven to apply that degree–in publishing, in writing, in education, in something–in order to make the most of the skills you’ve learned in this discipline.

Therefore, I’m terribly grateful for the opportunity to get my teaching certification and my Master’s in Education in order to pass on my love of reading and writing. I am so, so blessed to be in the program that I’m in, to be learning the things I am. I wouldn’t be the same person that I am without the instructors, the colleagues, and the students that I’ve met in the last 2 years. I can’t imagine being in any other field, and I’m so grateful to have the opportunity to focus on grad school right now so that I can have a wonderful, fulfilling career later.

Even though the nights are long and I couldn’t even tell you the last time I didn’t have a paper due, I still think the grad school years are some of the best of our lives. After almost 6 years of professional studying, I think we’ve got this down!

