Sunday, November 11th:

Today, I’m grateful for all of the research we’ve done into the kind of parents we want to be.

The day I found out I was pregnant, the first thing I did was go buy another pregnancy test. The second thing I did was go to the library.

Ever since then, we’ve had a shelf full of books with everything from What to Expect When You’re Expecting and 1000 Baby Names to Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way and back issues of Mothering magazine within arms reach.

We’ve always had a vague idea of the parenting style we’re most attracted to, but once we found out that we were actually going to need to find a parenting style–and soon–we dove headfirst into the task.

We’ve had so much fun reading about attachment parenting, babywearing, labor and delivery, unassisted births, breastfeeding, and a whole host of other topics that I’ll bore you about in detail another day. And I knew that I’d need this knowledge in February, but I never imagined that I’d need it…today!

While we were out studying at a coffee shop downtown this afternoon, I got a call on my cell phone from an “unknown” number. Just because, I picked it up. Turns out it was a lactation consultant from a local hospital, one that I visited about a month and a half ago after I was in a car accident (another story, for another day!). She said she was doing a survey of moms…but I’m pretty sure she just wanted to follow up with me and check to make sure I was aware of the benefits of breastfeeding.

Turns out, I definitely am! Thanks to all of the reading we’ve done, the people we’ve talked to, and the videos we’ve watched, I ROCKED all of her questions. I knew everything, from the benefits of skin to skin contact immediately after birth, to the importance of not supplementing with formula, to the hormones that both the baby and I release after birth and how to maximize milk production during that time. It felt awesome to know so much, and now I am totally prepared to breastfeed right this minute if I had to! I’m actually kind of bummed that I can’t!

It was definitely a moment of, “I can totally do this.” I have mostly felt unsure and anxious (although a happy-anxious) about what it’s going to be like to have a baby and be a mom, but after spouting off everything that I’ve researched today all while talking to an expert in the field–I am more confident than ever that I can tackle anything that this baby throws at me!

