After a long {and busy} fall semester, I don’t think anyone was more excited for Christmas break than us!

Even though our three weeks off of school included lots of studying {Peder, for his comps. I’m officially a math widow until late January}, two weeks of traveling, five family get togethers, and two midwife appointments, it was still one of our best Christmases yet.

We started off the break with our 30 week appointment at the midwife. My mom was even able to drive down and go the appointment with me, which was great as she had never been to a birth center before. Unfortunately our midwife was gone that day, catching a baby (we haven’t seen her since 21 weeks! They’re really busy), but the NP who handled the appointment was really great in her place. Everything with the baby was fine–measured right at 29 1/2 weeks–but the biggest shock of the appointment was when they said that they’d see me back in two weeks! Since when are we on the every-two-week schedule?! Time is flying by WAY too fast.

30 weeks and road trip-bound

30 weeks and road trip-bound

Then, the next day (Saturday) we speed-cleaned the apartment and drove up to my mom’s house in time for a weekend with her and my sister. It was nice to put in a little “pre-holiday” time, as we wouldn’t be back until Christmas Eve and would therefore miss all of the baking, shopping, and other fun stuff.

By Monday, though, we were gone again, driving up to Peder’s parent’s house. We spent a full week there, visiting with them, my FIL’s family, and my MIL’s family–three Christmases in all. It was busy, to be sure, but also really nice. Peder even convinced me to go cross country skiing–an activity I more than likely will not repeat until I am no longer 31 weeks pregnant. Turns out, the stomach muscles I need to ski are in short supply these days! I was impressed that I was able to fit into my pre-pregnancy outdoor coat, though, so that was a plus!

Pretty, sunny day!

Pretty, sunny day!

Cross country skiing at 31 weeks pregnant--I feel like this was a bigger accomplishment than anyone realized :P

Cross country skiing at 31 weeks pregnant–I feel like this was a bigger accomplishment than anyone realized 😛

On Christmas Eve, we traveled back to my mom’s house for our traditional Christmas celebration–Christmas Eve church service, halibut dinner, present opening, the works! We even got some snow that week, although not *on* Christmas. Still, it was a beautiful winter wonderland, complete with 7″ of snow and two bouts of shoveling {thanks, Peder!}, by the end of the week.

31 weeks

31 weeks on Christmas Eve

Eeeeeverybody loves a belly!

Eeeeeverybody loves a belly!

By the end of Christmas week, we had another midwife appointment–32 weeks–so we left my mom’s house to drive directly to the birth center. After another appointment with the NP (will we ever see the busy midwife again?!), we finally got to go HOME to our two attention-starved kitties. I’m still not sure if Ginny believes we’re staying here now or not–she’s been sleeping on my pillow next to my head ever since we got home!

I’d say this was our best Christmas ever, but I’m pretty sure Christmas 2013 will blow this one out of the water. Hard to believe that this time next year we’ll have a 10 month old–aahh!

