I’ve been trying to prep some freezer meals for us to use after the baby is born, so that I don’t have to worry about cooking for a while. I have enough for 11 dinners plus a breakfast, which I’m pretty proud of!

I’ve listed or linked the recipes below, plus instructions on how to freeze them. I haven’t unfrozen anything yet (baby’s still cooking, and consequently so am I), but I’ll let you know what freezes particularly well once we try them.

Recipes listed below:

Mexican Lasagna

Spaghetti Bake

Tuna noodle casserole

Marinated chicken breasts

Ravioli

Spinach Lasagna Rolls

Pot Roast Packs

Chicken Enchiladas

Cream cheese coffee cake

***

Mexican Lasagna

I use this delicious recipe for Mexican Lasagna. It makes enough for a 9×13 pan, so I turned it into two 8×8 casseroles–one to eat for dinner that night, and then one to freeze. I make the recipe a written all the way up until the assembly. Before layering the lasagna, I lined the casserole dish with saran wrap. Then I laid the layers of sauce, noodles, meat, and cheese in the pan on top of the saran. After allowing the dish to freeze completely in the freezer, I popped the food out of the casserole pan, wrapped in more saran wrap and a couple layers of aluminum foil, and returned the dish to the freezer. This way, I didn’t lose a casserole dish for weeks on end! Once we’re ready to eat it, I’ll just bring the dish out of the freezer, pop it into the same casserole (sans foil and saran wrap), and allow it to unfreeze before baking it as normal.

***

Spaghetti Bake

My baked spaghetti recipe is pretty simple:

Spaghetti or angel hair noodles (1/2 a box? I’m terrible at noodle portions. Enough to fill a casserole)

1 lb. ground beef (optional–I didn’t include this)

1 jar spaghetti sauce (I used a homemade version I made and canned last summer)

Ricotta cheese (I used about a cup)

1 tomato

Colby Jack cheese (for topping)

Cook the spaghetti according to package directions. Drain, rinse, and return to the pot. Pour the spaghetti sauce over and stir to combine. Remember to use a little more sauce then you normally would, as you’ll be freezing and thawing the dish so it should be a little more moist than usual.

**The assembly of the dish changes a bit with the freezing instructions, which I’ve listed below. However, I wanted to mention that I layer the noodle/sauce  mixture with gobs of ricotta cheese and slices of tomato. So, after reading the freezer directions below, add a layer of noodles, a few dollops of ricotta and slices of tomato, and then repeat. **

Before spooning the spaghetti into an 8×8 pan, I lined the casserole dish with saran wrap. Then put the noodles, sauce, and cheese into the pan on top of the saran. After allowing the dish to freeze completely in the freezer, I popped the food out of the casserole pan, wrapped in more saran wrap and a couple layers of aluminum foil, and returned the dish to the freezer. This way, I didn’t lose a casserole dish for weeks on end! Once we’re ready to eat it, I’ll just bring the dish out of the freezer, pop it into the same casserole (sans foil and saran wrap), and allow it to unfreeze before baking it as normal.

***

Tuna Noodle Casserole

1 package Egg Noodles

2 cans cream of mushroom soup (I make my own)

2 cans chunk light tuna in water, drained

1 can peas

Cook the noodles according to package directions. Drain and return to the pot. Stir in both cans of cream of mushroom soup, both cans of tuna, and the peas. Stir to combine.

Before spooning the mixture into an 8×8 pan, I lined the casserole dish with saran wrap. Then I put the whole pot (noodles, cream sauce, tuna, and peas) into the pan. After allowing the dish to freeze completely in the freezer, I popped the food out of the casserole pan, wrapped in more saran wrap and a couple layers of aluminum foil, and returned the dish to the freezer. This way, I didn’t lose a casserole dish for weeks on end! Once we’re ready to eat it, I’ll just bring the dish out of the freezer, pop it into the same casserole (sans foil and saran wrap), and allow it to unfreeze before baking it as normal.

***

Marinated Chicken Breasts

(4 breasts total, enough for two meals)

These were super simple–I  bought pre-marinated chicken breasts from the meat counter at our grocery store, and then stuck them in the freezer when we got home. Bing bang boom. I plan on taking them out of the freezer the morning we want to eat them, and then making a couple sides to go along with it. We always have vegetables and rice around, so it shouldn’t be too difficult to steam some broccoli, carrots, or corn and cook up some rice.

***

Ravioli 

Also super simple–the bags of frozen ravioli and tortellini were on sale at the grocery store, so I bought one to add to our freezer stock. The instructions are on the bag, and they even say to boil the ravioli frozen so I don’t even need to pull anything out. Heat up some sauce and serve with a veggie on the side.

***

Spinach Lasagna Rolls

(I made two pans, so double the recipe if you want to do the same)

I make lasagna rolls, as I think they’re easier to portion and serve.

1 box lasagna noodles (You’ll want to end up with about 9-12 rolls, depending on how big your pan is. 1 noodle=1 roll)

frozen spinach, thawed and drained–optional

1 jar spaghetti sauce

1 container ricotta cheese

Mozzarella cheese, for topping

Boil the noodles according to package directions. You’ll want to leave them a little more firm, as you’ll be baking them again. Drain and rinse, to make them a little cooler to handle

Lay each noodle on a cutting board (this can be done in batches). Spread ricotta cheese and spinach onto each noodle. Roll the noodle end to end, like sushi. Repeat until you’ve used all of the noodles.

Spread a little sauce onto the bottom of the casserole (lined with saran wrap for freezing–read below) beforehand to help keep the noodles from sticking. Then, place each roll in the pan. Cover with remaining sauce and mozzarella cheese.

Before assembling the lasagna rolls laying them in an 8×8 pan, I lined the casserole dish with saran wrap. Then I laid the rolls in the pan and covered with spaghetti sauce. After allowing the dish to freeze completely in the freezer, I popped the food out of the casserole pan, wrapped in more saran wrap and a couple layers of aluminum foil, and returned the dish to the freezer. This way, I didn’t lose a casserole dish for weeks on end! Once we’re ready to eat it, I’ll just bring the dish out of the freezer, pop it into the same casserole (sans foil and saran wrap), and allow it to unfreeze before baking it as normal.

***

Chicken Enchiladas

I make The Pioneer Woman’s white chicken enchiladas, and they’re divine. I made the recipe as she lists it and then before stuffing the enchiladas and laying them in an 8×8 pan, I lined the casserole dish with saran wrap. Then I laid the enchiladas in the pan and covered with the cream sauce. After allowing the dish to freeze completely in the freezer, I popped the food out of the casserole pan, wrapped in more saran wrap and a couple layers of aluminum foil, and returned the dish to the freezer. This way, I didn’t lose a casserole dish for weeks on end! Once we’re ready to eat it, I’ll just bring the dish out of the freezer, pop it into the same casserole (sans foil and saran wrap), and allow it to unfreeze before baking it as normal.

***

Pot Roast Packs (x2)

In addition to freezing the roasts, I precut two packs of root veggies. I chopped up 2 potatoes, a pound of carrots, and 1 large onion and then divided them between two freezer safe bags. I also threw in a McCormick’s pot roast seasoning packet, and Bam–meal ready. Just throw everything into the crockpot and done!

***

Cream cheese coffee cake

I used this recipe for cream cheese coffee cake, and it made enough for two 8×8 pans. It was huge! So we ate one and I froze the other. I made the recipe as is, and then baked two coffee cakes instead of the one described in the recipe. Once the spare cake had cooled, I popped it out of the casserole (grease the pan WELL!), wrapped it in saran wrap and foil, and stuck it in the freezer. I plan to pull it out of the freezer right as we’re headed out of the door for the birth center, and when we come home we’ll have breakfast! 🙂

***

Let me know what you try and what works well for you! 

