The highlight of this week: finding out that out lives are going to change forever.

Littlest baby love, due October 2015.

We love you already, sweet little one.

IMG_7791

While timing isn’t always something that we can plan on, we have been wanting and wishing for another baby for several months. My mama heart has been aching for a baby, and it has been more difficult than I would have imagined to wait for “the perfect time.” And as it turns out this isn’t it, but it is still amazing and beautiful and wonderful.

It was half expected, half not, but wholly loved and wanted.

On the morning I found out, I half-heartedly decided to take a pregnancy test, mostly out of pure hope. As soon as I looked up and saw it was a faint positive, I was instantly awake and alert! I called for Peder, and said “I’m pretty sure that’s a positive” as I handed him the test. Seeing him slowly realize what I was talking about and grow a big grin on his face was priceless.

We spent the rest of the week in various stages of shock and excitement and anxiety and eagerness and amazement. We ended up telling our families and some close friends much sooner than we did with Norah, in part because we’re seeing everyone this week for Norah’s birthday. But being this is the second baby, everything is, of course, more laid back and relaxed, including the revealing of our secret 🙂

We did do something fun for my family, as I couldn’t resist the opportunity with their visit this weekend. We told my mom and Em by putting Norah in her “Big Sis” shirt and waiting for them to see. It didn’t take long, and was such a fun way to share our news.

By the end of the week, we were already dreaming and thinking about who this little one will be and what our life will be like come October.

The only thing we know for sure: it will be wonderful.

